In the Password Depot Client, all password changes can be logged for each entry under Properties > History if required.
In this way, you can see the old and the new password every time you change an entry. These are displayed in plain text. If you do not want this, you can activate the option "Mask passwords and other sensitive data".
On the History tab, you can see how a password has evolved in case data has been lost or you accidentally over-saved a password. The password history can also be helpful, for example, if you accidentally generated a new password in Password Depot and then did not change it in the relevant account.
You will find a list of all changes that the password has undergone and you have the following options:
- View differences: One click shows you the exact differences between two versions of a password.
- Delete: You can use this button to delete an item from the history list.
- Restore: Brings the password back to the selected state.
- Change history: Specify here whether you want to save a history for this password, not save it or use the global settings for this option